20
Jan
10

Proud to belong to Jesus

It was my 33rd birthday yesterday. I had a splendid day, and I don’t feel too different from those days in my past when I was 32 🙂 A good friend of mine wrote something in a birthday greeting that made me think: “I am glad you do what you’re best at: active service for our Lord that you’re so proud to belong to“. The last sentence stopped me in my tracks. Am I truly proud to belong to God? And the answer from my spirit and heart was a resounding “YES”.

Yes, I am proud to belong to Jesus! I am proud that I belong to the Savior of the world! I am glad that I know, love and follow the only hope for all people on this planet! I am proud that I know the Gospel of truth about Jesus that is setting people free! I am proud to say that I am a very different person today than just a few years ago, because Jesus Christ is changing me! I am not ashamed of the Gospel! I am not ashamed of knowing the truth!

I listened to Delirious?’ old song Not Ashamed of the Gospel, and I felt my heart soar. The song’s lyrics are very true for me. While I am sad to see many people I know who had a stronger desire to follow Christ 10-15 years ago than they do today, I am so happy that I know/sense/feel a much stronger desire in me to truly know Christ than I had 15 years ago or even 5 years ago. Christ has my attention, and I truly want to know him in the ways that Paul so eloquently describe right here:

“But whatever was to my profit I now consider loss for the sake of Christ. What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things.

I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ – the righteousness that comes from God and is by faith.

I want to know Christ and the power of his resurrection and the fellowship of sharing in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, and so, somehow, to attain to the resurrection from the dead”

(Philippians 3:7-11)

With Paul I boast in the Lord! I boast in who God is!

I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God for the salvation of everyone who believes” (Romans 1:16). I have seen the power of the gospel. I have seen God set people free. Just yesterday I had the privilege of seeing a friend stepping out into a greater experience of freedom, because he encountered the Truth who is Jesus himself (John 14:6).

Blessings, Torben

0 Responses to “Proud to belong to Jesus”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 141,659 hits
January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Top Clicks

  • None

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

