11
Aug
09

It truly is unconditional

Who would have thought a few years ago that I would end up preaching and teaching about God’s unconditional love as freely and fervently as I do these days? I used to have a messed up view of God and myself. I thought God was always disappointed in me, and I thought that I was simply “too much” for him and other people to handle, and that was why I lacked close relationship both with my Father in Heaven and with other people. How wonderful it is for me to look back a the last six years in particular and see how God has been at work in my life. And how joyful it is for me to work in the area of discipleship training with God’s worldwide church and share about God’s unconditional love for us and the freedom, peace and joy that is ours to live in if we will surrender to the life giving truths about who God really is and who we as his children are in him!

Just yesterday my wife and I returned from a four week trip to visit my family and friends in Denmark, and to visit the wonderful islands of Iceland and Greenland. I still haven’t processed everything that happened during these past four weeks, but it’s a great joy for me to see that all the things I’m learning about who God really is and who I am in him make a radical, tangible difference when life’s difficulties hit me. I see a difference in the way I react when I’m hurting, when I get disappointed and when I feel like trying to save other people and rescue them to a better and more fulfilling life that may not experience yet, but that I know is real. I see how God has been dealing with me and my Savior Complex. I see how forgiveness, surrender, and letting go of expectations on other people bring freedom and life to me. I see that what I believe is real and makes a difference that other people can see. The difference is called Jesus Christ. I take no credit for the transformation that has happened in my life these last six years since I agreed with God that it was him I was searching for and not some girl who would fill the void I felt inside of me. It’s truly all about who Christ is and how he is working out his salvation in me.

I tried something new when I was in Greenland. It may sound odd, but it was actually the very first time I tried teaching about our life in Christ in Danish! I have taught and preached in English many times these past six years, but it was the very first time I had to teach several hours in my mother tongue. It went pretty well, and it was good for me to see that the truths of God’s Word are just as powerful in Danish as in English 🙂 The first time I taught in the small 45-people church that my friend in Greenland attends, I even had the privilege of being translated into Greenlandic, which is the official and very complicated-sounding language of Greenland.

I taught and talked much about God’s unconditional love during my trip. It truly is what we all need to have revealed to us. It gives such an incredible freedom to be ourselves when we know that we know that we know that we know that nothing we can ever do/say/think/feel or not do/say/think/feel will ever separate us from God’s love when we have accepted Jesus as our Lord and Savior!

I will write much more about what went on in me during these past few weeks. But I thought I would just write this little blurb to get this blog re-started 🙂

Blessings, Torben

2 Responses to “It truly is unconditional”


  1. 1 Donna
    August 13, 2009 at 1:42 am

    Welcome Back!!

  2. August 14, 2009 at 2:15 am

    Thanks Donna! It’s good to be back, and I have lots of blog entries just waiting to be written. Hope you guys are doing well. We still talk with great joy about our visit with you guys in Tennessee.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 141,659 hits
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Top Clicks

  • None

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

