30
Mar
09

Not about rules

What a wonderful weekend I have just had with fellow staff members from Grace Ministries International and participants at our monthly Grace Life Conference. A weekend of celebrating God’s wonderful grace and the Cross of Christ where Jesus not only won victory over sin and took care of what separated me from God, but he also gave me life! We looked at the wonderful truths from God’s own Word that tells me that my old self (my dead, unregenerate spirit) was crucified and buried with Christ (Galatians 2:20 and Romans 6: 1-7) and how I – the new me, the real me, the new creation (2. Corinthians 5:17) – was resurrected (Romans 6) and is now seated spiritually in Christ right next to God in heavenly places (Ephesians 2:6).

How wonderful to celebrate these life changing truths! I am in Christ and he is in me! And I have become the righteousness of God (2. Corinthians 5:21). I am not just a sinner saved by grace. I am holy, righteous, pure and loved just the way I am! I am safe to be me! I am safe and free to live a life worth living. I have been given the new heart that God promised thousands of years ago in the book of Ezekiel, and I can now trust my heart’s desires, because when I really follow my true heart that’s inhabited by Christ I will ALWAYS follow God’s will for my life! Because God’s will is written on my heart! I have a choice to make: I can choose to walk in the Spirit, walk according to who I really am (Romans 8 ) and experience life, joy, peace and pleasure or I can choose to live as a hypocrite (not living according to who I really am!) and follow my flesh and experience the dissatisfying, frustrating and empty counterfeit existence of Romans 7 and experience death in my experience to others and myself instead of life (Romans 6:23). How wonderful and fun life is when we God reveals to us our true identity and we choose to live true to ourselves!

How wonderful to celebrate that Christianity and life with Christ is not about rules, regulations and gritting your teeth to get through life and serve God in the process! Life with Christ is crazy, wonderful, exciting, passionate and fulfilling and definitely never boring

I love this wonderful and thought provoking quote from Bill Gillham talking about who you are as a child of God:

A new creature in Christ no longer desires, no longer craves to live a sinful life. That’s why Christians find such a life deeply unrewarding. Granted, it feels good to get your needs met, but when you sin to accomplish this, you feel rotten. The reason for this is that God has given us the heart transplant which he prophesied in Ezekiel 36:26-27 and fulfilled in us through our death and re-creation in Christ. This isn’t bypass surgery. He removed that old, lost, rebellious, desperately sick heart and replaced it with a heart of love for him. We must consistently remind ourselves and one another of this fact instead of talking about how “desperately wicked” our heart is. That is the Old Testament description of the unregenerated heart in Jeremiah 17:9

You are free to be you! I am free to be me! I am free to love and live passionately! I thank God that true Christianity has nothing to do with rules, but everything to do with a real life relationship with God!

Hallelujah! Praise God!

Torben – who loved being able to teach again! I felt so alive 🙂

Here is a video with Keith Green’s beautiful love song to God “Oh Lord, You’re beautiful”:

 

 

1 Response to “Not about rules”


  1. March 30, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 148,949 hits
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Top Clicks

  • None

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

