16
Mar
09

If only I would listen…

….to myself!

God reminded me of some of the sentences that I keep saying to other people, but apparently I had forgotten the truth of myself these last few weeks.

If you feel burdened down, it’s because you’re carrying a burden that’s not yours to carry. Remember that Christ promised that his burden is light” I tell this to people when they are trying to fix everything and make sure that everything for everybody is going just the way it ought to according to their standards. I have felt quite burdened by the situation of friends in and outside of church and family members these past few weeks. These are not my burdens to carry! It’s not my job to rescue anybody.

Look at your hands! If you have marks after nails in your hands, it’s your job to save the world and the people in it, but if you don’t have those marks, it’s simply not your job” is another thing that I often say in conversation and teaching. Oh how hard it is for me to let go of my savior complex I want to save everybody! I want to make sure they see the life, freedom, joy and peace that’s only found in Christ! I want it so badly for myself and for other people, and often I forget that it’s all about Christ and what he is doing in me and in other people. He may be doing a work I can’t see right now. He may be (ok…let’s face it: He is!) working on a different time schedule than what I prefer, but as I also say:

God is never late. He is always on time“. That is something I often need to be reminded of. I am often incredibly impatient. I want my life to work out the way I want it now. Not tomorrow. Not in two years. Now! But God knows best. All the time. He is never late. Not in my life, and not in other peoples’ lives. He is always up to something (Romans 8:28-29). And he has promised that he will fulfill the work he has started in each one of his children (Philippians 1:6). He will also be the one to work out the calling he has given me. He will establish the right timing for everything he has promised to take place. 

Surrender to Christ’s leading. He may take you through the valley of the shadow of death or to the still waters (Psalm 23) at this point. It’s up to him. Trust him and allow him to be the Shepherd and you to just be a sheep“. There are definitely times when I fight Christ leading me to places of more brokenness, surrender, humility and not being recognized, understood, chosen or accepted by other people. I have fought him a lot this past month. It hurts. And I don’t want to go there. And yet I know I do. I do want to experience a deeper depth of relationship with Christ. And that takes place when I share in the fellowship of his sufferings (Philippians 3:7-11).

birds

So yep, God was basically reminding me of some of the truths that he has revealed to me and that he has allowed me to share with other people. It’s funny how strange it can feel to be reminded of your own words in this way. But there was a sense of encouragement as well. It was comforting to be reminded of life giving truths. And to see that I am changing and I am becoming more of who I already am in Christ. 

Dan Stone in The Rest Of The Gospel:

I’ve always liked the word awareness more than the word growth. Because what really happens in each of us? Our awareness simply expands. We become more aware of who already was. “Oh, I see more and more of him”. We’re not seeing more and more about him. We’re seeing more and more of him. He is the peace. He is the joy. He is the life. He is the love

Torben – who is glad that he can be teaching himself in a roundabout way 🙂

0 Responses to “If only I would listen…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 144,030 hits
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Top Clicks

  • None

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

