15
Feb
09

Hala Raúl!!

rauljubel

As a boy growing up I had my football (soccer) heroes that I followed with great passion. Michael Laudrup was the greatest of them. The Danish magician was a joy to follow whenever he played, even though I admit it was hard to see him play for FC Barcelona for a number of years (!). The Dutch Milan star Ruud Gullit was another hero, and more recently I loved watching Zinédine Zidane play. The only one left of my childhood heroes who is still playing at top level is the Spanish forward Raúl González Blanco, or just Raúl who plays for my favorite club (together with F.C.København, Arsenal FC and Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk from Ukraine!) Real Madrid in Spain.

I have always loved watching Raúl play since the very first game he played back when he was only 17 in 1995. In 1995 I watched Denmark play Spain in the qualifications for the European Championship in England in 1996. The game ended 1-1 and wasn’t that memorable in itself. But I still remember that evening in Parken in Copenhagen very clearly, because I spotted that the Spanish under-21-team was watching the game in the same area as I was sitting. Raúl was a part of that team and I went down and got his autograph on my match program. By far the coolest autograph I’ve ever gotten!

young-raul

And today, 14 years later, Raúl just scored another brace for Real Madrid and became the highest scoring Real Madrid player in history with 309 goals for the royal whites. He is also the all-time topscorer of the Champions League, of all European club tournaments in general and for the Spanish national team. An amazing achievement by Real Madrid’s captain who has always been the very definition of a gentleman on and outside the football field. He has played more than 600 competitive games for Real Madrid and Spain, and he has never received a red card in his entire career!

I will be sad the day Raúl hangs up his boots, and I guess that will remind me that my childhood days are finally over 🙂

But until that day, and Raúl has said that he will play on for another few seasons, I will enjoy watching him play, lead and score goals for the most successful club in the history of football, Real Madrid!

Hala Real Madrid and Hala Raúl!

Torben – who hopes his faithful blog readers will forgive all these ramblings about a guy that most of you probably don’t know at all 🙂

Here is a video with some of Raúl’s great goals for Real Madrid. Enjoy!

0 Responses to “Hala Raúl!!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 141,819 hits
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Top Clicks

  • None

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

