06
Dec
08

Renew me

This is one of my favorite songs. It’s a cry from my heart. And it’s cry to the only one who can truly renew me and change me into who I want to be. Christian growth and renewal is never about me doing something or getting something, or finally pulling myself more together. It’s about Christ changing me from within. I do want to do what Christ wants. I have been given a new heart by Christ. He lives in it. And it’s a lie right from the pit of hell that I am not set free to follow God’s will for my life. Satan still tries to tempt me to follow his ways, that always lead to mediocrity, frustration, fear, and ultimately death here in life. And I can choose to follow him. But that’s not what my new heart, that’s not what the spirit within me wants. Following Satan and the ideas of this world, is not being faithful to my new identity as a believer. I am a new and perfect creation in Christ in my spirit. And I want to follow him and his will for my life. And I realize the need, daily, to be renewed by him, so not only my spirit, but also my will, emotions, thoughts and actions are transformed by him. Transformed from the inside out. Transformation is always from the inside out. It’s Christ changing me from within. I thank God that it’s not about me and my effort, but about his!

Change that’s based on do’s, don’ts and fear of punishment from God or other people will only last for a short while. It’s based on the law, and law only brings death. Real, lasting change and transformation comes from grace, comes from within. Change comes from seeing at a deeper level who I am as a believer and a child of God, and who I am not! I need more change like this. I need to experience so much change in my life. I long for it. But I know that I am dependent on God doing it in me and through me. So I ask him to reveal himself to me, and to reveal who I am in him. Because I know that’s how I will be changed day by day.

Here is a video with Avalon’s song “Renew Me”. Watch it, read the lyrics, and make it a prayer of your own to the Savior who lives within you, if you have put your faith and trust in him.

And a quote from Thomas Merton: “There is only one problem on which all my existence, my peace, and my happiness depend: to discover myself in discovering God. If I find Him, I will find myself, and if I find my true self, I will find Him“, and Saint Augustine prayed along the same lines: “Grant, Lord, that I may know myself that I may know You

Blessings, Torben

0 Responses to “Renew me”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 143,787 hits
December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

