26
Nov
08

God runs to the broken

“Broken I run to you” it says at the top of my blog site here on http://www.abrokencup.wordpress.com (in case you’re reading this on Facebook). And it’s a piece of deep truth that I am broken and run to God, but a few weeks ago God reminded me of an even deeper truth. He runs to me. God runs to me, the broken one. God runs to those of us who can’t make life work. God runs to those of us who have messed up our lives. God runs to those of us who really think we should know better. God runs to those of us who walked away in rebellion, wishing God to disappear. God runs to those of us who are tired, who cry and who don’t feel we’re worthy to be with God. God runs to those of us who think we are failures. 

And he throws his arms around us. Around me. He puts a ring on my finger, gives me a beautiful set of clothes to wear, and he throws a party for all my friends and loved ones with my favorite food and drinks. He tells me that I’m silly to assume that he is disappointed with me or mad at me. He confirms me as his son. And he confirms you as his daughter. 

He is so excited to have you and me with him. He loves for us to spend time with him. He knows we still go astray and wallow in the mud with the pigs from time to time, but he calls us to embrace more and more who we are – princes and princesses of heaven! God’s chosen children. Co-heirs with Jesus Christ himself.

I know all this is true because of the wonderful story from Luke 15, where Jesus tells of the Prodigal Son. 

“When he was still a long way off, his father saw him. His heart pounding, he ran out, embraced him, and kissed him”

Here are two wonderful songs about this amazing piece of truth by Phillips, Craig and Dean. First When God Ran

…and then A Place Called Grace

 

Happy Thanksgiving to all of you!

Blessings, Torben – who over and over again comes back to the undeserved beauty of being a child of God. I am fully embraced, loved, accepted and worthy of life with God, because of the new creation I am!

5 Responses to “God runs to the broken”


  1. 1 fireball3316
    November 26, 2008 at 3:06 am

    i love the title to your blog – and i love how God has turned that and shown how He runs to us. i am so grateful and thankful he does. i remember this song so powerfully from when i got saved in 1993 – man did it hit me hard! God RUNS to us and embraces us and heals us and loves us. what an amazing God!

    blessings, fireball

  2. November 26, 2008 at 8:41 am

    Thanks for the great posts –
    I’m looking forward to reading more –
    I’ve added you to my blog-surfer.
    Happy blogging,
    Jonie – “who over and over again comes back to the undeserved beauty of being a child of God. I am fully embraced, loved, accepted and worthy of life with God, because of the new creation I am!”
    Amen!

  3. November 26, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Hey Fireball, Jonie and Brian! Thanks for your comments to my blog posts. It’s very encouraging to hear that other people can benefit from what I scribble down on these pages!

    How wonderful when we can remind each other of the liberating truths of what it means to be a child of God.

    We do have a lot to be thankful for, whether Thanksgiving or not 🙂 And yep, Brian we’re talking about what makes Christianity completely unique here. C. S. Lewis was attending a conference on comparative religions, and after different religion scholars had been discussing for hours what Christianity’s unique contribution to the world was, C. S. Lewis walked in, and when they asked him for his opinion, the Northern Irish scholar replied with a smile: “oh, that’s easy, that’s grace!”

    Blessings, Torben

  4. November 26, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    I’m in tears reading your words here. It is the deepest reality that can be expressed, that of God pursuing us. (Which is one of the unique things about Christianity, really. Every other religion is man’s attempt to get to God. Only in Christ has God attempted to get to us.) What stunning truth. I love it. Thank you for offering it.

  5. November 26, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog – I hope you also liked the other 2 I have – Unchained Hope and Unchained Sorrow. You’ll find the links under “My Blogs” on my Unchained Dreams blog.
    I too am totally overwhelmed by the fact that God loves us so and actually enjoys our company! So amazing! Happy Thanksgiving!
    God bless, Jonie
    PS. I search the internet for the images, there’s so much out there, it’s fantastic! I save them to my computer and when you post here you have the option to add images. Have fun!


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 141,659 hits
November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Top Clicks

  • None

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

