23
Oct
08

Being stretched by God

As I continue to be stretched by God life is interesting. Many people end up on this blog searching for something related to questions like: “why is Christianity so boring?” or “why is it so boring to be a Christian?”. As I wrote in the blog entry Boring Christianity it certainly isn’t true that Christianity and being a Christian is boring if you’ve truly encountered Jesus Christ. Crazy, insane, challenging, frustrating, fun, awesome, thought provoking, sleep stealing maybe, but never boring!

These days it does feel a bit like I’m too little Nutella being spread on too much bread. It hurts. I feel the stretch. It doesn’t feel good, but I know that God is in an interesting process of stripping me of all the people, accomplishments, comforts, etc. I’ve held on to in my life that have kept me from him. He is digging up old wounds that I have tried to cover with ample doses of minimizing, rationalizing and trying to forget. It’s an ongoing process where he encounters me in the deep places of my heart, and points me towards more life in him. Some of the hurts have been covered up for decades, so it hurts when God opens them up again. But he knows that in order for me to experience freedom from the past and be set free to live life more fully in the present and in my future, it’s needed. And thank God that he is the one doing it. It’s not about me opening up chapters in my life story that I would prefer to forget. But it’s part of my surrender to God that I allow him and trust him to open up what needs to be opened up in my life book.

How safe it is in the midst of this process that I don’t have to struggle with feelings of guilt and shame. How thankful I am for the freedom I experience in God that I have no fears about the day I die, and I am not haunted by a feeling of not living up to God’s demands today. I am not guilty anymore. There is no condemnation for me. Ever. Never again. There never will be any condemnation. I love this simple song by Aaron Keyes that points to the liberating fact that I’m free in Christ!

Here is a little video where he tells about the song Not Guilty Anymore:

And here is a video with the song.

And here are the lyrics to Not Guilty Anymore

It doesn’t matter what you’ve done. It doesn’t matter where you’re coming from. It doesn’t matter where you’ve been. Hear me tell you: I forgive!

You’re not guilty anymore. You’re not filthy anymore. I love you, mercy is yours. You’re not broken anymore, you’re not captive anymore. I love you, mercy is yours.

Can you believe that this is true. Grace abundant I am giving you. It’s cleansing deeper than you know. All was paid for long ago.

You’re not guilty anymore. You’re not filthy anymore. I love you, mercy is yours. You’re not broken anymore, you’re not captive anymore. I love you, mercy is yours.

There is now therefore no condemnation for those who are in Jesus. You’re not guilty anymore. You’re not filthy anymore. I love you, mercy is yours. You’re not broken anymore, you’re not captive anymore. I love you, mercy is yours.

You are spotless. You are holy. You are faultless. You are whole. You are righteous. You are blameless. You are pardoned. You are mine.

Blessings, Torben

4 Responses to “Being stretched by God”


  1. 1 S.Brown
    April 10, 2012 at 10:10 pm

    How awesome are this songs words of truth, not just unbelievers need to know this; but us christians that love the Lord. We beat our selves up more than our enemy. Because were not guilty anymore; because the blood cleanses us; and the Holy Sprit seals us.

  2. February 21, 2013 at 10:35 am

    Many times in our walk with the Lord, he has to break us down in order to mold us into the vessel he wants to use for his glory. I have been there a couple of times, it hurt’s to open all of the seceret pain inside, being betrayed by friends and family, but in a moment of letting go and letting God have complete control over my life what a difference it makes in one’s life, trust God he will never fail you, he will be the dearest friend you’ll ever have.

  3. June 28, 2014 at 11:51 pm

    Reblogged this on Looking4GodToday and commented:
    Not guilty any more


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 145,942 hits
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

