04
Oct
08

“Glorious? Holy?….me….?”

As a continuation of my blog titled “Not Just A Sinner Saved By Grace” I thought I would write a bit about who we are in Christ as believers. I talked about that we as believers are not sinners anymore, but saints who do sometimes sin, but that never changes who we are. This week has been another full and interesting week. I write that after each week, but it remains the truth. How amazing it is to focus on God and who he is! And how amazing it is when he starts showing who we truly are as his children!

A speaker this week mentioned some verses from John 17:20-23 where it talks about that Jesus gave his glory to his disciples, and that includes me. I am glorious! I am holy and perfect in my spirit! It’s me! This is exchanged life. Christ exchanged his life with my life. When Christ was on the Cross this exchange took place. “God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God” (2. Corinthians 5:21) and “Consequently, just as the result of one trespass was condemnation for all men, so also the result of one act of righteousness was justification that brings life for all men. For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous” (Romans 5:18-19). 

These verses tell of a glorious truth: I AM RIGHTEOUS! Not just positionally, not just a little bit, not just because Christ covers ugly me….no I AM RIGHTEOUS. I am a new creation (2. Corinthians 5:17) with a perfect spirit (Hebrews 10:14), and my spirit is what determines my identity! It’s pretty simple: either you’re in Adam (the one man whose trespass made all of us sinners from birth, even before we have done anything wrong) and you’re unrighteous and rejected OR you’re in Christ and you’re completely accepted! There is no in between. It’s an either or. 

In Christ I’m accepted, glorious, perfect, forgiven, seated next to Christ in heaven (Ephesians 2:6) and holy! Wow….these are incredible truths. I believe it with my mind and with my heart. I still need the Holy Spirit to unpack some of it at an emotional level. I need him to show me that I can rejoice in all circumstances, because I’m glorious. I need him to reveal my glory to me so I see how unique and precious I am in God’s eyes. I need his revelation. It’s not about me, or you, trying to convince ourselves of any of these wonderful truths. It’s the Holy Spirit’s job to convince believers of our righteousness, and he needs to do that for me at an emotional level as well. I’m delighted to belong to a God who doesn’t just care for my brain, but also for my heart and my emotions.

I will end this post with a video with the song “You make everything glorious”. The first chorus goes like this: “You make everything glorious. You make everything glorious. You make everything glorious. And I am yours….what does that make me?” I like the rhetorical question “what does that make me?”, obviously the answer is: THAT MAKES ME GLORIOUS TOO!!!! Hallelujah!

Blessings, Torben

0 Responses to ““Glorious? Holy?….me….?””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 141,659 hits
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

