26
May
08

My Jesus

Hello dear blog reader!

I am back from a great time in the happiest country in the world. They did look pretty happy those Danes I met, since it was great weather most of the time I was there 🙂 Now I’m in Kiev and back with more blog entries these next days. I will start out with a video with Todd Agnew’s thought provoking song My Jesus. What Jesus is it that you claim to follow? I have often had to ask myself that question. And I had to ask some of the people I spoke to in Denmark the same question – what God is it that you follow? When you’re steeped in frustrations and experience little of the abundant life that Christ promised (John 10:10), is it because you follow a different Jesus than the one described in the Bible? Have you created your own Jesus? 

Listen to the song, read the words and think and pray about the challenge in this song. (A little help with a couple of words: accosted means ‘approach or address someone boldly or aggressively’ and Beale Street is a street in Memphis, Tennessee with clubs, restaurants and a busy night life)

“I am tired of living for success and popularity, I want to be like my Jesus”

I want to know the Jesus of the Bible more and more, and I am seeing more and more that this may mean being misunderstood, misquoted, lonely, cursed at and treated poorly in every possible way! That was part of the reality of Jesus’ life here on earth – why I am expecting something different when I claim to follow him?

How wonderful it is that it’s not about me trying to be a mini-Jesus, even though unfortunately many people think so. WWJD (What Would Jesus Do) was an interesting campaign, and I understand that the heart behind was to help believers remember what Jesus would have done in this and that situation, but the truth of the Gospel is that it’s not about me becoming more like Jesus as far as me knowing what Christ would do and then do it. It’s about me surrendering to the fact that I don’t know how to live, love and forgive and ask Christ to do it through me. It’s about Jesus being allowed by me to express his life through me. All we have to do is believe and abide in Christ (John 15), and then he will love, live, comfort and bring hope through us. You don’t ever have to worry about not having the right words to say or the answers to all questions, Christ will speak and answer through you. The more I see that it’s never about me, it’s all about Christ, the more freedom I can experience. The more I accept the (for my flesh and according to other peoples’ standards) humiliating fact that I am just a sheep following my Shepherd and that all glory must go to him, the more I experience what the New Testament promises those who follow the wounded Shepherd who died on a cross 2000 years ago to bring forgiveness of sins and abundant life now and forever to his children. 

Christ in you, the hope of glory” (Colossians 1:27)

Torben – who still feels like he’s only just scratched the surface of the incredible mystery that Christ lives in me and through me and I never have to worry about anything!

0 Responses to “My Jesus”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 141,885 hits
May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

