15
May
08

How can I be a blessing?

These days in Denmark I get to meet with many friends, family members, supporters and other great people, and I try to ask a lot of them a question that God has put on my heart to ask: “how can I be a blessing for you?“. It’s interesting to see the thoughtful, but happy faces people generally have, when they get that question. It’s obvious that it’s not too often they’re asked that question, and it’s also clear that it’s a question that’s very welcome. 

Throughout the Bible we see that every time God blesses somebody it has a dual purpose. The principle of God’s blessings is always: you are blessed to be a blessing! It starts in Genesis chapter 12 where God tells Abram (later Abraham) the following: 

I will make you into a great nation, and I will bless you. I will make your name great, and you will be a blessing, I will bless those who bless you, and whoever curses you I will curse; and all peoples on earth will be blessed through you” (Genesis 12: 2-3)

As a follower of Jesus Christ, I’m called to bless and not curse. To bless without ceasing. To bless everybody, no matter what they say or to do me. Jesus is very clear on this subject: “Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you” (Matthew 5:44). In the book of Romans Paul repeats the same theme: “Bless those who persecute you; bless and do not curse” (Romans 12:14). And these verses in Romans were spoken to Christians who were all facing severe persecution and troubles because of their faith. That didn’t change the principle though: we are always called to bless, encourage and lift people up! 

What a blessing it is when we are blessed by other people. When people choose to point out the good in us in stead of focusing on the negative sides all the time. How precious it is when we choose to encourage, lift up and love those who are hurting or messing up their lives. 

I have been richly blessed so far in my week in Denmark. I’ve had the privilege of meeting brothers and sisters in Christ where we could sit down and just bless each other. Bless each other by sharing what God is doing in us and through us. And this is how God has chosen to bless the world: through his children! Through his broken cups. Through his beloved Church. Every genuine blessing from God will be a blessing for me, but also for other people. There is no such thing as a “private faith” or a faith where you can’t see fruit. Real faith in Christ will produce fruit. Fruit to enjoy for other people around me. Not because of me, but because of Christ. I’m just the branch hanging loose in Christ (John 15). He produces the fruit in me. He is the fruit. So every time somebody is blessed through me, all glory goes to God – it’s all about him! I do nothing to produce fruit or to be a blessing to other people! All I do is share what God is showing me, and then his words through me becomes blessings to the people I encounter.

Maybe that could be a challenge for you, dear blog reader, to ask at least two people you know: “how can I be a blessing for you?” sometime this next week

Can I do something for you? Pray for you? Take care of your kids an evening? Rub your back? Just sit and listen to you? Lend you my shoulder to cry on? Walk your dog? Water your plants? Cook you a meal? Lend you my car?

Torben 

0 Responses to “How can I be a blessing?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 146,927 hits
May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

