17
Apr
08

Be the center

More than 2,5 years ago Jeannette and I got married in Garden City, Georgia, USA and one of the songs we chose for all of us to sing at our wedding was the beautiful hymn “Be The Center” (or Centre for the Brits among us..!) by Michael Frye.

We chose this song together with the old, classic hymn “Great is Thy Faithfulness” to sing at our wedding because both songs point to the fact that for us to stay together as a married couple and continue to love each other, and grow with each other and with God all is dependent on God! It’s not about us! Jesus needs to be the center, and as long as he is the center and we rely on him no matter if it’s “summer, or winter, or spring time or harvest” we will stay together and we will continue to see more of and live more in the great plan that God has for us as individuals and as a married couple.

We sang Be The Center at YWAM Kyiv’s family night tonight, and I was just reminded of God’s faithfulness throughout the years and how wonderful and interesting and ever-changing life with him truly is when he is the center of all we do!

Jesus be the center, be my source, be my light, Jesus. Jesus be the center, be my hope, be my song, Jesus. Be the fire in my heart. Be the wind in these sails. Be the reason that I live, Jesus, Jesus. Jesus be my vision, be my path, be my guide, Jesus

Torben

3 Responses to “Be the center”


  1. 1 Jodell
    May 5, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    Hi bro and sis in Christ, i am looking for the internet just to listen to this song when i stumbled onto your website. I really love the lyrics.. Jesus must indeed be the centre, else we will all be off centre. And please keep the blog coming. And you guys do sing well.. thank you for blessing me. God is faithful. From Singapore.

  2. May 5, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    Hey Jodell!

    Great to see a comment from someone from Singapore. I visited Singapore 11 years ago for a couple of days during a three month trip to Malaysia, and I really enjoyed your country!

    Thanks for your encouraging comment. One thing I should probably clarify is that it’s not my wife and I singing Be The Center on the video. We did indeed sing it with our wedding guests at our wedding ceremony, but I don’t think that the world is ready for us to start recording our songs yet 🙂

    Glad you were blessed by the song though. And you’re always welcome back to listen to and be encouraged by the many other great songs you’ll find on this blog site!

    Blessings, Torben

  3. 3 Tanju
    June 16, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    I too was drawn to the internet looking for this song, I thought I’d not find this wonderful song but thank He lead me here. Amen and Bless you all. From London UK


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 143,787 hits
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

