22
Feb
08

Listen to your life

This week’s quote is from the American minister and author Frederick Buechner who among many wise things has said this:

Listen to your life. See it for the fathomless mystery that it is. In the boredom and the pain of it no less than in the excitement and the gladness: touch, taste, smell your way to the holy, hidden heart of it because in the last analysis all moments are key moments, and life itself is grace
Abundant life in Christ is not something for tomorrow, it’s something for today. No matter where I am, no matter what my circumstances are, no matter whether life is fun or hard, no matter what I have or don’t have: if I learn to listen to my life and see God in my everyday trivialities, transformation happens. I start seeing the world, God, others and myself for who we really are. Ordinary becomes special and the lost sense of wonder, joy and mystery is rediscovered.
Torben
4 Responses to “Listen to your life”


  1. February 26, 2008 at 11:40 am

    cirka Citat fra min Peter” Jeg træder ind i en bus, på en regnvejrsdag, er våd og kold. Der er ingen siddepladser. Og alle de andre buspassagere ser ned eller væk fra mig. Så kommer jeg i tanke om at Gud er min far. Gud er kongen, altså må jeg være prinsen. Så jeg ranker ryggen, holder mit hoved højt for at kunne bære kronen.Jeg får lyst til at vinke kongeligt- men lader være :o) Og så smiler jeg! Indeni mærker jeg hans kærlighed til mig her midt i regnen”
    Alt kan forvandles i Guds lys!
    Guds fred Annie

  2. February 26, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    Annie, det var dog et herligt og livsbekræftende citat! Let me try to translate it so other readers can benefit from your husbands’s everyday life revelation of who God is and who he is in him: “I step onto a bus, it’s a rainy day, I’m wet and cold. There are no seats left. All the other passengers either look down or away from me. Then I am reminded that God is my Father. God is the King, so I must be the Prince. So I straighten up my back, keep my head high to be able to carry the crown. I feel like waving like a royalty, but I choose not to:-) And I smile! Inside I feel His love for me in the midst of the rain” Everything can be changed in God’s light!

  3. 3 Terry Paul Roland
    March 23, 2009 at 6:40 am

    Just ran into your site. I googled Listen to Your Life. I’ll be back to read some more. My compliments! Good stuff here.

  4. March 23, 2009 at 11:38 am

    Hey Terry! Welcome onboard abrokencup.wordpress.com. Thanks for your compliments! And feel free to look around and comment if you like. Blessings! Torben


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 144,030 hits
February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Top Clicks

  • None

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

